Beware The Latest Craigslist Apartment Rental Credit Card Scam

We’re looking for new apartments and have stumbled across a couple of really great deals on Craigslist, deals so great we knew there had to be a catch.

Credit Card Phishing Scam

The scam works like this, there is a person listing an apartment/condo that has everything you’re looking for, and for a rate that’s well below market value. For this particular listing, the unit is actually in a 7 story building (we don’t have any buildings that tall in Gainesville), and the rent is only $735/month.

craigslist-apartment-scam.jpg

The scam works like this: I send an email to the person with the apartment for rent, they send me a reply email asking me to fill out a credit verification form to validate my inquiry.

The seller has received a lot of responses on their units in the past and wants to weed out unscrupulus buyers and they point you to this link:

http://zapsa.com/news/offers/gotoreport/

The link, when you click on it redirects to:

https://www.freecreditreports360.com/ppc/creditreport/index-AFF00043.ashx

That link looks like a real credit reporting site, but I suspect is just a phishing site (read: steal your credit card). This was a really well constructed scam, and I suspect a lot of people have been victimized, so let this post stand as a warning to people don’t fill out the credit check and pass this on.

  • hi i think one of the best web site, there are so many trips for seo.
  • TY
    It's not always a reliable service. For $2 an article you are going to get a crappy half original content and no name to attach behind it. Plus you might be given the wrong info when it comes to testing. People will give you the kind of info you want just to get the hit, not necessary the truth.

    I think it's a useful service, but not to that extent.
blog comments powered by Disqus
Close